What proportion of NZ households have a landline telephone?

My hunch is that the proportion will have decreased, but I have no idea by how much. The 2013 Census results will be very interesting.

I do find the following sources of information interesting:

1. The Ministry of Social Development’s 2010 Social Report, Page 112.

“At the 2006 Census, 98 percent of people lived in households with telephones, an increase from 96 percent in 2001. The 2006 Census collected information on cellphones and landline telephones separately for the first time. It showed that 79 percent of people lived in households with cellphones available in the dwelling all or most of the time, while 92 percent lived in households with landline telephones. The Household Use of ICT Survey showed that, in the December 2009 quarter, 85 percent of the population aged 15 years and over had the personal use of a mobile phone in the previous 12 months, up from 80 percent three years earlier.”

So according to this report, in 2006 98% lived in households with a phone and 92% had a landline. So 2% didn’t  have either a phone or a landline (this is where my hypothetical ‘6% cell phone only’ came from in my previous post, but the figure has probably grown somewhat since 2006).

2. The Commerce Commission Annual Telecommunications Monitoring Report, Page 9.

Image

So recent figures show the number of landlines looks to have remained fairly static. This isn’t too surprising I guess, because telecommunications companies often bundle landlines with household packages. As a proportion of total households though there may be a decrease. Also, I wonder how many of these landlines don’t have a phone connected to them?

As I said, I’m very much looking forward to the 2013 Census results.

5 thoughts on “What proportion of NZ households have a landline telephone?

  1. hmm, I would have expected a slight decrease in landlines too given the increasing popularity of naked broadband. Unless there is a lot of people using naked broadband who don’t realize they don’t really have a landline as such. I guess it depends on how they have classified landline and fixed broadband and if the people surveyed completely understood.

    1. Yeah there are a lot of ‘ifs and buts’. My impression is that quite a few people assume there has been a big shift away from landlines. I don’t necessarily think they are wrong. As a researcher though I kinda see it as my duty to remain skeptical about the size of the shift until there is some good hard evidence.

Make a comment...

